The Weekend Changes—Inspiring Gifts


Image from This is Glamorous

The big weekend is upon us and ready or not, it is time to celebrate.  At Christmas, I love the combination of celebrating with loud and fun parties and quiet moments of solitude around a lit Christmas tree. 

This weekend we are hosting our annual Christmas Eve party which combines traditions from both my and Joe’s families.  On the menu:  stuffed mushrooms and Christmas punch from the Cartwright’s, clam chowder from my Swedish roots (our edible version of lutefisk).  Activities:  eating and conversing from my side, a Christmas program that everyone participates in from Joe’s side.  The first time I met his family was Christmas Eve and Joe and I painted our chins to look like frogs, hung upside-down over a table, and sang Christmas carols.

Christmas Day should be just as fun and traditional with present-opening and Christmas breakfast at home and then church, dinner and more present-opening with my parent’s and siblings and their families.  A big change for us this year…Courtnee will be celebrating Christmas with her in-laws.  I can’t think about it very hard and I suspect I will have a few moments of “closet crying” on Christmas Eve and Christmas.  But, Geoff’s family is wonderful and Courtnee and Geoff will be here the day after Christmas to spend a week with us.

I hope your festivities are fun, fulfilling, and meaningful.  Thank you for being a part of my life these past 10 months.  This blog has been a bright spot in a relatively dark year.  I wish you a Merry Christmas and leave you with gifts of inspiration…I hope they will lead you to many good changes this holiday season.

Reflection from Hello, Friend via Marta.
The Gifts We Give Each Other from Laura at Blog con Queso.
The Coat found at Modern Mormon Men.
Seeing Christmas Through New Eyes from Pres. Dieter F. Uchtdorf
Christmas Morning from Kirtsy.

Merry, merry!

Leave a Reply

