Desperately Seeking a Cleaning Schedule

Jenny’s Calendar at Little Green Notebook

Over the years, I have discovered that a good cleaning schedule is the single most important factor in the cleanliness level of our home. A good schedule keeps me from feeling overwhelmed by all there is to accomplish and helps me stay focused.  It also makes it easier for me to make job lists for my girls each day, and that makes life better for all of us.

However, what I know and what I’m currently doing are an entire world apart.   My current plan is let things go until they are so dirty I can’t live with it any longer and/or my girls are slacking and I feel like I need to whip them into shape.  This leads to a lot of inconsistency on my part, a lot of laziness on their part, and a messy and dirty house on all our parts.

I bet I have created about 100 cleaning schedules over the past 25 years of my life, and I have yet to create the perfect one.  I’ve read books, perused magazines, used internet sites, and spent countless hours on the computer creating checklists and schedules and plans.  And I’ve learned a lot in the process.  But the most important thing I’ve learned is that I spend so much time planning schedules that I never actually get to working on the schedules.  This is a big problem for me in lots of areas of my life…I am an overthinker!

I look at a schedule or create my own schedule and then I immediately start to pick it apart, coming up with all kinds of reasons as to why a particular schedule doesn’t work for me.  Or I’ll try a new schedule for a couple of days and if it doesn’t work perfectly, I throw it out and start all over…or even worse, I give up entirely.

So, this month I’m determined to find a cleaning schedule that works for me.  I’m not looking for perfection.  I just need something, anything, that helps me get back on track in the cleaning department.

I’m going to try out Jenny’s Schedule first, but I’m going to be super flexible.  I know I’ll need to add some things that she doesn’t have on her list and I know that some days I won’t complete everything.  For one thing, my house is more than 3 times the size of her apartment and I’ve got a good-sized yard, a few cars, and a few pets, too.  But, I also have three older daughters to help with the cleaning and I’m currently a stay-at-home mom so I have a bit more time for cleaning than Jenny does.

At this point, anything is better than nothing, which is what is happening now.  So, I think Jenny’s schedule will be just right.

2 thoughts on “Desperately Seeking a Cleaning Schedule

Leave a Reply

