A Floor Cleaning Fail

Image from DIY Network

Pinned on my Pinterest clean board…this gorgeous image and instructions for cleaning hardwood floors.  I had a few extra minutes this week, so I decided to give it a try.

Instructions:  Use boiling water and two teabags to clean hardwood floors. The tannic acid in tea creates a beautiful shine for hardwood floors. Let two teabags steep in the boiling water for a few minutes. Pour the tea into a bucket. Take a soft cloth and wring it out in the tea. The cloth merely needs to be damp, not soaked. This will enable the floor to dry quickly. Wash the floor and be ready to be amazed by the sheen.

I’m sorry to say that I was not amazed by the sheen.  In fact, there was no sheen.  I took a bunch of before and after photos, but they weren’t even worth posting because there was no difference.  My floors were cleaner, but no sheen, which is what I was looking for.  Where did I go wrong?

1.  Was it the very old tea I used?

2.  There were no directions as to the amount of boiling water to add to the tea.  I used a cup for each bag…was it possibly too much?

3.  I used a microfiber cloth…is that considered a “soft” cloth?

I would really like to use all-natural cleaners, but they seem to rarely work for me.  Anyone have any great tips for achieving a beautiful sheen on hardwood floors…preferably natural and preferably successful?

3 thoughts on “A Floor Cleaning Fail

  1. Pingback: Things Change

  2. I think some of the sheen is the poly coating your floor already has, I have parquet and it has a simi-gloss sheen and when I was done mopping it was just like when we put the poly on the floor and took away the splotchy patches that have formed from previous mopping and kids.

Leave a Reply

