Happy Life Tip 2–The Price of Invulnerability

hl tip 2

I think that Brené Brown has changed my life!  Her Ted Talk on The Price of Invulnerability has created the biggest paradigm shift I’ve ever had, and one that I’m sure will lead to greater happiness in my life.  I had never really thought about vulnerability vs. invulnerability and the role it plays in my happiness, but as I’ve listened to her words again and again, I’ve realized that most of my life I have been shielding myself from being vulnerable.  And I’ve been using the exact tools that Brené describes:  disappointment as a lifestyle, low-grade disconnection, perfection, extremism, and numbing.  Like many of you, I fear vulnerability because it often leads to fear, anxiety, shame, and guilt.  But as Brené points out, vulnerability is also at the core of joy, love, belonging, creativity, and faith.

Brené also talks about scarcity and the constant messages that we receive that there is never enough and that we are never enough, or not extraordinary enough.  Do you ever feel that way?  I don’t think a day goes by that I don’t struggle with some form of these emotions and it always gives me such comfort to be told that it isn’t true.

In closing, Brené offers these two solutions for embracing vulnerability in our life:  practice gratitude and honor the ordinary.  What beautiful, yet simple reminders of what we need to do to be happy.

You can find more about Brené Brown on her website.  She has also written several books…I just ordered this one and can’t wait to read it and share some thoughts.

Leave a Reply

